Another Self Portrait (1969-1971): The Bootleg Series Vol. 10 (2 CD)

Aug 27, 2013

Bob Dylan Bootleg Series Volume 10
 comes from the 1969 – 1971 recording sessions that ultimately produced the Self Portrait and New Morning albums. All 35 tracks are previously unreleased, alternate takes, demos or live versions of that material. The versions of the songs on this package are radically different from the officially released versions. The cover is new artwork by Bob Dylan. The liner notes have been written by Greil Marcus, who wrote the original Self Portrait review for Rolling Stone that infamously asked, “What is this shit?”. Also included is an extensive essay from well known journalist, Michael Simmons. The set also has extensive photographs of that era from John Cohen and Al Clayton – many of them rare and unseen –  as well as pictures of the original tape boxes and cue sheets.


Includes 35 tracks on 2 CD’s, and soft cover perfect bound booklet



Track listing: 



1.   Went To See The Gypsy (Demo)

2.   Little Sadie (Without Overdubs, Self Portrait)

3.   Pretty Saro (Unreleased, Self Portrait)

4.   Alberta # 3 (Alternate Version, Self Portrait)

5.   Spanish Is The Loving Tongue (Unreleased, Self Portrait)

6.   Annie’s Going To Sing Her Song (Unreleased, Self Portrait) 

7.   Time Passes Slowly #1 (Alternate Version, New Morning)

8.   Only A Hobo (Unreleased, Greatest Hits II)

9.   Minstrel Boy (Unreleased, The Basement Tapes)

10. I Threw It All Away (Alternate Version, Nashville Skyline) 

11. Railroad Bill (Unreleased, Self Portrait)

12. Thirsty Boots (Unreleased, Self Portrait)

13. This Evening So Soon (Unreleased, Self Portrait)

14. These Hands (Unreleased, Self Portrait)

15. In Search Of Little Sadie (Without Overdubs, Self Portrait) 

16. House Carpenter (Unreleased, Self Portrait)

17. All The Tired Horses (Without Overdubs, Self Portrait)



1.   If Not For You (Alternate Version, New Morning)

2.   Wallflower (Alternate Version, 1971)

3.   Wigwam  (Without Overdubs, Self Portrait)

4.   Days Of ’49 (Without Overdubs, Self Portrait)

5.   Working On A Guru (Unreleased, New Morning)

6.   Country Pie (Alternate Version, Nashville Skyline)

7.   I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight (Live with The Band, Isle Of Wight, 1969)

8.   Highway 61 Revisited (Live with The Band, Isle Of Wight, 1969)

9.   Copper Kettle (Without Overdubs, Self Portrait)

10. Bring Me A Little Water (Unreleased, New Morning)

11. Sign On The Window (With Orchestral Overdubs, New Morning)

12. Tattle O’Day (Unreleased, Self Portrait)

13. If Dogs Run Free (Alternate Version, New Morning)

14. New Morning (With Horn Section Overdubs, New Morning)

15. Went To See The Gypsy (Alternate Version, New Morning)

16. Belle Isle (Without Overdubs, Self Portrait)

17. Time Passes Slowly #2 (Alternate Version, New Morning)

18. When I Paint My Masterpiece (Demo)